PlatformWhy VisaBOSHow It WorksPricingResults
Best CRM for Visa ConsultantsImmigration Consultant SoftwareIELTS Coaching SoftwareVisa Case ManagementStudy Abroad CRMDocument ManagementMulti-Branch SoftwareCanada Visa SoftwareVisaBOS vs ZohoVisaBOS vs SmartXVisaBOS vs MerittoVisaBOS vs KONDESKVisaBOS vs EzyMigrateVisaBOS vs HubSpotVisaBOS vs LeadSquaredBlog
Sign InBook a DemoStart Free →
🇬🇷 Greece · 26 September 2026

Greece Digital Nomad Visa Explained

The February 2026 change that ended in-country conversion, the €3,500 net-income test, and why the widely marketed 50% tax break is not confirmed to apply to every holder.

A quick but important note before anything else: Greece's digital nomad visa rules changed twice in early 2026 by most sources' account — once to the application process itself (Law 5275/2026, in force from 6 February 2026) and reportedly again to the income-evidence lookback window (around 27 January 2026) — and the widely marketed 50% income-tax break is genuinely disputed as to whether it applies to a nomad by default. This article relied on web search across multiple independent sources, cross-checked against each other, including sources specifically covering the 2026 legal changes. Where sources agreed consistently, that is noted as widely reported — not a confirmed government rule. Where sources disagreed or the point was genuinely unsettled, that is stated plainly. Always confirm current requirements directly with a Greek consulate or embassy, or a qualified Greek immigration or tax adviser.

This piece is a deliberate companion to our Greece Golden Visa explainer — the two are structurally different Greek residence routes and should not share a checklist — and to our existing digital nomad coverage of Spain, Portugal, Croatia, and Estonia. Our Greece visa consultant software page covers Greece's student and work-visa cases and does not itself cover this route — this article fills that gap.

What Greece's Digital Nomad Visa structurally is

The route was created under Law 4825/2021, with its residence-permit framework since reflected in Law 5038/2023, and is aimed at a non-EU/EEA national working remotely for a foreign employer, or as a self-employed professional serving clients based outside Greece. It is a distinct legal basis from the Golden Visa's investment-residency route — there is no property purchase or capital-investment requirement here, and no minimum-stay exemption of the kind the Golden Visa offers. Instead, eligibility turns on demonstrating qualifying remote-work income, described below.

🛂

A Type D national visa, and since February 2026, a consulate-first process

Greece's digital nomad route was created under Law 4825/2021, with the residence-permit framework since reflected in Law 5038/2023. Sources report that Law 5275/2026, in force from 6 February 2026, abolished the option most applicants previously used — entering as a tourist and converting to digital-nomad status from inside Greece. Sources now consistently describe a visa-required national obtaining a Type D visa at a Greek consulate in their country of residence before travelling, not after arrival.

💶

A flat net-income test, not a wage-linked multiple like Croatia's

Sources consistently report a minimum net monthly income of €3,500, uplifted by a reported 20% for an accompanying spouse and 15% for each dependent child. Unlike Croatia's scheme, which is tested against a periodically revised multiple of the national average salary, Greece's threshold is reported as a flat euro figure — though a flat figure can still be revised by law, so it should not be treated as permanent.

📄

A reported 2026 tightening of the income-evidence lookback window

Multiple sources report a change around 27 January 2026 that extended the required bank-statement lookback period from 3 consecutive months to 6 consecutive months. This article flags it as reported rather than confirmed, given how recent it is, and because sources vary in how precisely they date it relative to the separate 6 February 2026 consulate-process change.

⚠️

The 50% income-tax break is genuinely not automatic for every holder

Article 5C of the Greek Income Tax Code offers qualifying new tax residents a 50% exemption on qualifying income for up to seven years, and several sources link this incentive to digital nomads. But other sources are explicit that the exemption was built for someone taking up employment or business activity in Greece, and that a nomad earning solely from foreign clients with no Greek-registered activity or Employer-of-Record arrangement may not qualify. This article treats that as a genuinely unsettled question, not a guaranteed benefit.

The February 2026 change: why the consulate now comes first

For much of this route's history, sources describe applicants entering Greece as a tourist and converting to digital-nomad residence status once inside the country. Sources report that Law 5275/2026, in force from 6 February 2026, abolished that in-country conversion option for applicants whose nationality requires a visa to enter Greece. Those applicants are now reported to need a Type D national visa, obtained at a Greek consulate or embassy in their country of legal residence, before they travel — with the residence-permit stage following only after arrival. For a consultancy, this moves the first real checkpoint in a case from a Greek government office to a consulate abroad, which changes both the document-preparation timeline and where a client needs to be physically present at the start of the process.

The income test, and how it differs from Croatia's approach

Sources consistently report a minimum net monthly income of €3,500 for the principal applicant, increased by a reported 20% where a spouse accompanies them and by a reported 15% for each dependent child. Unlike Croatia's digital nomad scheme — covered separately on this blog — which is tested against a periodically revised multiple of Croatia's average salary, Greece's test is reported as a flat euro figure. A flat figure is simpler to communicate to a client, but it is still set in law and can still be revised, so it should be reconfirmed rather than assumed current.

A reported tightening of the evidence window

Multiple sources report a change around 27 January 2026 extending the required bank-statement lookback period an applicant must show from 3 consecutive months to 6 consecutive months. Because this is very recent and close in time to the separate 6 February 2026 consulate-process change, sources are not perfectly consistent on how the two relate — this article treats the lookback change as reported rather than confirmed, and a consultancy should verify the current requirement directly with a Greek consulate before assembling a client's bank-statement file.

The 50% tax break: marketed widely, confirmed for fewer people than it sounds

Article 5C of the Greek Income Tax Code offers a 50% exemption on qualifying income for up to seven tax years to a new Greek tax resident who meets its conditions, and it is commonly marketed alongside the digital nomad visa as a headline benefit. But sources that examine the tax rule specifically point out that Article 5C was built for someone taking up employment or business activity in Greece — and that a nomad earning solely from foreign clients, with no Greek-registered business activity and no Employer-of-Record arrangement, may not meet that condition at all. This article treats the point as genuinely unsettled rather than resolving it either way. A consultancy should route this specific question to a qualified Greek tax adviser for each client's actual work arrangement, rather than presenting the 50% exemption as a guaranteed feature of holding the visa.

How and where to apply, and what it currently costs

A visa-required applicant is now reported to apply for the Type D national visa at a Greek consulate or embassy covering their country of legal residence, ahead of travel, with the residence-permit application following after arrival in Greece. On cost, sources report a comparatively modest visa-application fee — commonly cited around €75 — plus a separate residence-permit fee payable after arrival, but sources give inconsistent figures for that second fee and for the resulting combined total, with reported totals commonly falling in the roughly €1,000-and-up range. Given that inconsistency, this article deliberately does not state one precise combined figure as fact — confirm the exact, current fee schedule directly with the relevant Greek consulate before quoting a client.

What a consultancy should actually verify before advising a case

Given that the consulate-first requirement is a genuinely recent February 2026 change, that the income-evidence lookback window was reportedly tightened around the same period, and that the widely marketed 50% tax break is not confirmed to apply automatically to every holder, treat this article as a structural map rather than a source of current figures. Confirm with the relevant Greek consulate whether the applicant's nationality still requires the Type D visa route and what the current lookback and fee requirements are; confirm the current income threshold and family-uplift percentages; and route the tax-treatment question to a qualified Greek tax adviser before implying the 50% exemption applies. Our Greece visa consultant software page covers how VisaBOS helps a consultancy track Greece cases from intake, though it is a case-management tool, not a source of immigration or tax law, and does not replace confirming current requirements with a Greek consulate or a qualified adviser.

Frequently asked questions

What is Greece's Digital Nomad Visa?

It is a route created under Law 4825/2021, with its residence-permit framework since reflected in Law 5038/2023, allowing a non-EU/EEA national who works remotely for a foreign employer, or as a self-employed professional serving foreign clients, to obtain Greek residence status without taking up local employment. It sits alongside, and should not be confused with, Greece's separate Golden Visa investment-residency route, already covered on this blog. This article relied on web search across multiple independent sources, including specialist coverage of Greece's February 2026 immigration-law changes, and every figure below should still be confirmed against current official Greek government or consulate guidance before being relied on for a specific case.

What changed in February 2026, and why does it matter for how a consultancy files a case?

Sources report that Law 5275/2026, in force from 6 February 2026, ended the practice of entering Greece as a tourist and converting to digital-nomad status once inside the country. A visa-required applicant is now reported to need a Type D national visa issued by a Greek consulate or embassy in their country of residence before travelling, with the residence-permit stage following after arrival. This is a genuine procedural change, not a cosmetic one — it moves the pinch point in a case from a Greek government office to a consulate abroad, and a consultancy building a Greece digital-nomad checklist around the old in-country-conversion process needs to update it, not just note the change in passing.

What is the current income requirement?

Sources consistently report a minimum net monthly income of €3,500 for the principal applicant, with the required amount reported to increase by 20% for an accompanying spouse and by 15% for each dependent child. This is described as a flat euro figure rather than a wage-linked multiple like the one used by Croatia's scheme, which this article also covers separately. A flat figure is easier to quote a client than a moving statistic, but it is still set by Greek law and has already been the subject of at least one 2026 procedural change on the evidence side (see below) — confirm the current figure against a Greek consulate or official guidance before assessing a specific applicant.

What documents are generally required, and has the evidence requirement changed recently?

Beyond proof of remote employment or self-employment and income meeting the current threshold, sources describe the standard file as valid health insurance for the stay, proof of accommodation, and bank statements evidencing the claimed income. Multiple sources report a change around 27 January 2026 extending the required bank-statement lookback window from 3 consecutive months to 6 consecutive months. Because this is very recent and sources are not perfectly consistent on how it relates in time to the separate 6 February 2026 consulate-process change, this article states it as reported rather than settled — confirm the current lookback requirement directly with the relevant Greek consulate before assembling a client's file.

Do digital nomad visa holders automatically get the 50% income-tax break?

No — and this is the point this article is most careful about. Article 5C of the Greek Income Tax Code offers qualifying new Greek tax residents a 50% exemption on qualifying income for up to seven tax years, and it is commonly marketed alongside the digital nomad visa. But sources examining the tax rule specifically point out that Article 5C was designed for someone taking up employment or business activity in Greece, and that a nomad earning purely from foreign clients — without Greek-registered business activity or an Employer-of-Record arrangement — may not qualify for it at all. A consultancy should route this question to a qualified Greek tax adviser on a case-by-case basis rather than presenting the 50% break as a guaranteed feature of the visa itself.

How is this different from Greece's Golden Visa, already covered on this blog?

These are two structurally different Greek residence routes, and a consultancy should not reuse one route's checklist for the other. Our Greece Golden Visa explainer covers a residency-by-investment route, most commonly through real estate, with no minimum-stay requirement to keep the permit but also no income test of the kind described here. The Digital Nomad Visa, by contrast, is built entirely around demonstrating remote-work income above a set threshold, follows the Type D national-visa process described above, and carries its own separate (and only partly resolved) tax-treatment question. A client asking about "moving to Greece" needs to be routed to the correct one of these two before any checklist is built.

How does Greece's scheme compare to Spain, Portugal, Croatia, and Estonia's digital nomad routes, also covered on this blog?

All five run on separate national legal frameworks with different income tests and different application mechanics, and none should be treated as a template for another. Our Spain Digital Nomad Visa explainer covers a route under Spain's 2023 Startups Law tested against a percentage of Spain's SMI. Our Portugal D8 explainer covers a route tested against a multiple of Portugal's minimum wage and administered by AIMA. Our Croatia Digital Nomad Visa explainer covers a route tested against a multiple of Croatia's average salary, administered by MUP. Our Estonia Digital Nomad Visa explainer covers a flat €4,500 gross-income test with its own short-stay/long-stay split. Greece's route uses its own flat €3,500 net-income figure, its own family-uplift percentages, and — since February 2026 — its own consulate-first application requirement. Do not carry a checklist from one of these five countries into a case for another.

How and where does an applicant apply, and what does it cost?

Sources describe a visa-required applicant now applying for the Type D national visa at a Greek consulate or embassy in their country of legal residence, before travelling to Greece, with a residence-permit stage following after arrival. On fees, sources report a relatively modest visa-application fee (commonly cited around €75) plus a separate, larger residence-permit fee payable after arrival, with sources giving inconsistent figures for that second fee and for the resulting total — reported combined totals commonly cited in the roughly €1,000+ range. Given the inconsistency between sources on the exact breakdown, this article deliberately does not state a precise combined figure as fact — confirm the current fee schedule directly with the relevant Greek consulate before quoting a client.

What should a consultancy verify before advising a case?

Given that the consulate-first requirement is a genuinely recent (February 2026) procedural change, that the income-evidence lookback window was reportedly extended around the same period, and that the widely marketed 50% tax break is not confirmed to apply automatically to every holder, the practical discipline here is to treat this article as a structural map, not a source of current figures. Confirm with the relevant Greek consulate whether the applicant's nationality still requires the Type D visa route; confirm the current income threshold and family uplift percentages; confirm the current bank-statement lookback window; and route the tax-treatment question to a qualified Greek tax adviser before implying the 50% exemption applies. Our Greece visa consultant software page covers how VisaBOS helps a consultancy track Greece cases from intake, though it is a case-management tool, not a source of immigration or tax law, and does not replace confirming current requirements with a Greek consulate or a qualified adviser.

Track Greece Cases Without Losing the Detail

Tag each Greece case at intake — Golden Visa, digital nomad, or study/work — and keep the right checklist, documents, and deadlines together with VisaBOS.

No credit card required · Plans from ₹5,000/month

📅Book a Demo