PlatformWhy VisaBOSHow It WorksPricingResults
Best CRM for Visa ConsultantsImmigration Consultant SoftwareIELTS Coaching SoftwareVisa Case ManagementStudy Abroad CRMDocument ManagementMulti-Branch SoftwareCanada Visa SoftwareVisaBOS vs ZohoVisaBOS vs SmartXVisaBOS vs MerittoVisaBOS vs KONDESKVisaBOS vs EzyMigrateVisaBOS vs HubSpotVisaBOS vs LeadSquaredBlog
Sign InBook a DemoStart Free →
🇨🇦 Canada · 15 September 2026

PTE Core Test for Canada Immigration Explained

Why IRCC designated PTE Core for economic immigration and citizenship in January 2024, how its 10-90 scale maps to CLB, and why it is not the same product as PTE Academic.

A quick but important note before anything else: this article was drafted using web search results cross-checked across multiple independent sources — including canada.ca's own IRCC program-delivery update announcing the designation — but was not confirmed against a live fetch of canada.ca's current pages while writing. Designated-test lists, CLB thresholds, CRS point values, and test fees are all IRCC/Pearson-set and periodically revised — always confirm current figures directly on canada.ca before relying on anything below for a specific client's file.

Do not confuse this with PTE Academic: our PTE coaching software page and every other PTE reference already on this site are about PTE Academic, the university-admissions and study-permit product. PTE Core is a separate Pearson test IRCC designated specifically for economic immigration and citizenship — the two are not interchangeable, and sitting the wrong one for a client's purpose wastes a test fee.

What PTE Core is, and when IRCC designated it

Sources consistently report that IRCC added PTE Core to its list of designated language tests on 30 January 2024, for use across economic immigration programs — including Express Entry streams such as the Federal Skilled Worker Program and the Canadian Experience Class — and for citizenship applications, with the Student Direct Stream reported as the one stated exception to that acceptance. This is a materially more recent designation than IELTS or CELPIP, both of which our CELPIP explainer and existing IELTS content discuss as longer-established options.

🇨🇦

A recent IRCC designation, not a long-standing one

Sources consistently report that IRCC designated PTE Core as an accepted language test on 30 January 2024, for economic immigration programs and citizenship applications — with the Student Direct Stream reported as the one stated exception. This is a materially more recent designation than IELTS or CELPIP, so its position in a client's test-choice conversation is still relatively new.

🖥️

Fully computer-delivered and AI-scored

Sources describe PTE Core as a roughly two-hour, entirely computer-delivered test with no human examiner present, covering listening, reading, writing, and speaking, and including two item types reported as unique to PTE Core versus PTE Academic — "Respond to a Situation" and "Write Email."

🔢

A 10-90 scale that maps to CLB, the same way CELPIP does

Sources describe PTE Core as scored 10-90 on Pearson's Global Scale of English, with that score mapped directly to the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) scale IRCC actually uses for CRS points and program minimums — the same practical convenience our CELPIP explainer describes for that test, and a different mechanism from an IELTS-to-CLB conversion table lookup.

⚠️

Not the same product as PTE Academic, and not interchangeable

PTE Core and PTE Academic are both Pearson products but serve different purposes: sources describe PTE Core as accepted for IRCC economic immigration and citizenship, not for university admissions, while PTE Academic is accepted for study-permit and university-admission purposes but is not the product IRCC lists for immigration programs. Booking the wrong one wastes a test fee and a client's time.

Format, scoring, and the CLB mapping

Sources describe PTE Core as a roughly two-hour, fully computer-delivered test with AI-based scoring and no human examiner present, covering listening, reading, writing, and speaking, and including two item types reported as unique to PTE Core versus PTE Academic — "Respond to a Situation" and "Write Email." Scores are reported on a 10-90 scale drawn from Pearson's Global Scale of English, mapped directly to the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) level IRCC uses for CRS points and program minimums — the same kind of direct mapping our CELPIP explainer describes for that test's 1-12 scale, and a different mechanism from an IELTS band score, which needs a separate conversion table to find its CLB equivalent.

Validity, fee, and what tends to change

Sources commonly report PTE Core results as valid for 2 years from the test date, the same window generally reported for IELTS General Training and CELPIP-General, and commonly cite a test fee in the range of roughly CAD 340-360 — with some sources noting the fee has risen since the January 2024 designation. Because PTE Core's IRCC designation is itself recent, treat both figures as reported and due for reconfirmation, rather than settled facts to repeat to a client without checking.

How this fits alongside CELPIP and IELTS on this site

PTE Core is CELPIP's closest analog on this site — both are English tests IRCC designates specifically for economic immigration and citizenship, separate from a study-permit-oriented test like IELTS Academic or PTE Academic. Our CELPIP explainer covers that test's own scale, variants, and CLB mapping in the same depth this article covers PTE Core. Neither piece replaces the other — a client's specific program eligibility and current designated-test list should be checked against canada.ca directly before choosing between them.

What a consultancy should actually verify

This article deliberately does not state a specific current CRS point figure tied to a PTE Core score, a fixed CLB threshold for every program, or the complete current list of IRCC-designated tests as unchangeable fact — none of those specifics were confirmed against a live fetch of canada.ca's own pages while researching this article. Confirm PTE Core's current designation status, the CLB mapping table, the applicable CRS point values, and the current test fee directly on canada.ca's designated language testing agencies page before advising a client. Our Canada Express Entry software page covers how VisaBOS checklists a client's language-test document — IELTS, CELPIP, TEF, or PTE Core — as part of an Express Entry file, though it remains a case-management tool, not a source of immigration policy, and does not replace confirming current requirements with IRCC.

Frequently asked questions

What is PTE Core, and who accepts it?

PTE Core (Pearson Test of English Core) is an English-language proficiency test that sources report IRCC designated as an accepted language test on 30 January 2024, for use across economic immigration programs — including Express Entry streams such as the Federal Skilled Worker Program and the Canadian Experience Class — and for citizenship applications. Sources report the Student Direct Stream as the one stated exception to that acceptance. It is generally described as Canada-immigration-focused, in the same category as CELPIP rather than as a study-permit or university-admissions test.

How is PTE Core different from PTE Academic?

They are both Pearson-branded English tests but serve different purposes and are not interchangeable. Sources describe PTE Academic as the version accepted for university admissions and Canadian study-permit applications, while PTE Core is the version IRCC has designated for economic immigration programs and citizenship. A client preparing a study-permit file needs PTE Academic; a client preparing an Express Entry or citizenship file needs PTE Core (or another IRCC-designated test such as IELTS General Training or CELPIP) — sitting the wrong one does not transfer between the two purposes.

What does the PTE Core test format look like?

Sources describe PTE Core as a fully computer-delivered test, roughly two hours long, with no human examiner present and AI-based scoring, covering all four skills — listening, reading, writing, and speaking. Two item types are reported as unique to PTE Core rather than shared with PTE Academic: "Respond to a Situation" and "Write Email," both designed around everyday and workplace communication scenarios rather than academic content.

How does the PTE Core score scale work, and how does it relate to CLB?

Sources describe PTE Core as scored 10-90 on Pearson's Global Scale of English, with that score reported to map directly to the Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) level IRCC uses for Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) points and program eligibility minimums — similar in convenience to how our CELPIP explainer describes that test's 1-12-to-CLB mapping, and distinct from an IELTS band score, which requires a separate IRCC-published conversion table to find its CLB equivalent.

How long is a PTE Core result valid, and what does it commonly cost?

Sources commonly report PTE Core results as valid for 2 years from the test date, the same validity window generally reported for IELTS General Training and CELPIP-General. Sources commonly cite a test fee in the range of roughly CAD 340-360, with some sources noting the fee has risen since PTE Core was first designated in January 2024. Both the validity period and the fee are Pearson/IRCC-set details that can change, so confirm the current figures before a client books a test date.

Why does this site cover CELPIP in depth but had no PTE Core explainer until now?

Our CELPIP explainer already covers Canada's other immigration-only English test in depth, and our PTE coaching software page exists on this site — but that page, and every other PTE mention here, is about PTE Academic (study-permit and university-admissions use), a different Pearson product from PTE Core. Given how extensively this site already covers Express Entry, CRS scoring, and CELPIP specifically, PTE Core was a genuine, specific gap worth its own explainer rather than being folded into either the CELPIP piece or the PTE Academic coaching page.

What should a consultancy verify before advising a client to sit PTE Core?

This article deliberately does not state a specific current CRS point figure tied to a PTE Core score, a fixed CLB threshold for every program, or the complete current list of IRCC-designated tests as unchangeable fact — none of those specifics were confirmed directly against a live fetch of canada.ca's own pages while researching this article, and all figures above were cross-checked across multiple independent secondary sources instead. Confirm PTE Core's current designation status, the CLB mapping table, the applicable CRS point values, and the current test fee directly on canada.ca's designated language testing agencies page before advising a client, particularly since PTE Core's own IRCC designation is recent and its details have already moved once.

Track Every Language Test In One Case Record

Checklist IELTS, CELPIP, PTE Core, or TEF results against each Express Entry client's file automatically with VisaBOS.

No credit card required · Plans from ₹5,000/month

📅Book a Demo